Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA)

You are here

30th Annual NEMBA

30th Annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards

30th Annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards  


Thursday, May 24, 2018

Northland Country Club
3901 E. Superior St.  Duluth, MN  55804

5: 00 - 6:30   Book Fair and Reception

6:30 - 8:00   Featured Speaker, and Awards Presentation

8:00 - 9:00  Extension of the Book Fair

The 30th annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) will be presented at an evening public celebration on Thursday, May 24, 2018, at the Northland Country Club, honoring books published in 2017. The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards showcase and honor authors and books that capture the spirit of the Northland and substantially represent Northeastern Minnesota in the areas of history, culture, heritage, or lifestyle.

Books nominated for the 30th annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards as well as other regional titles will be available and on sale at the NEMBA Book Fair. The event is free and open to the public.

William Kent Krueger
William Kent Krueger

This year's speaker, William Kent Krueger, writes the New York Times best-selling Cork O'Connor mystery series, which is set in the great north woods of Minnesota. His work has received many awards, been translated into more than a dozen languages, and been optioned by Hollywood. His 2013 novel Ordinary Grace was honored with almost every award possible in the mystery genre, including the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Award. Desolation Mountain, the 17th novel in the Cork O'Connor series, will be released this August. 

Kent was raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon. He briefly attended Stanford University before being kicked out for radical activities. After that, he logged timber, worked construction, tried his hand at freelance journalism, and eventually ended up researching child development at the University of Minnesota. He makes his home in St. Paul, a city he dearly loves. He does all of his writing in a small St. Paul coffee shop and attributes his success as a writer to the wonderful stories he read as a child.


Nominations were accepted in one of six categories (nominations closed February 1, 2018):

(1) Nonfiction: nonfiction works such as history, biography, guidebooks, cookbooks, books about science and nature, and scholarly works.

(2) Fiction: novels, short stories, plays, and other works of narrative fiction.

(3) Children's Literature: books of any type intended for children and young adults.

(4) Poetry: collections of poetry or a single poem of book length.

(5) Memoir: books that examine some aspect of the world from a highly personal perspective.

(6) Art, Photography: books that primarily serve to showcase (and annotate) the visual art contained in them.

NOTE: Nomination information and forms for the 31st annual NEMBAs, honoring books published in 2018, will be available in the fall of 2018.


The winning author in each category will receive a cash prize of $200. The winning author and the honorable mention in each category will receive a glass plaque and 100 book seals. 

Winner and Honorable Mention NEMBA book seals

Presented by the UMD Kathryn A. Martin Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN  55812

& the Friends of the Duluth Public Library