Meet the Award-Winning NEMBA Authors

Meet the authors poster with NEMBA seal and names of readers: Peter Geye, Linda LeGarde Grover, Ron Morton, John Pastor, Thomas Peacock, and Tim White
July 24, 2017

The public is invited to a Meet the Winning Authors event featuring winners of the Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards on Monday, July 24, 6-7:30 p.m., in the Blue Room at the Mount Royal branch of the Duluth Public Library.

  • Monday, July 24  
  • 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Blue Room, Mount Royal branch of the Duluth Public Library 

At least six of the winners will be in attendance, including Peter Geye, Wintering, winner in the Fiction category; Linda LeGarde Grover, The Sky Watched: Poems of Ojibwe Lives, winner in Poetry; Ron Morton, co-author of Jay Cooke State Park to Two Harbors: A Walking Guide to the Superior Hiking Trail, honorable mention in Nonfiction; John Pastor, What Does a Clever Moose Eat? Natural History, Ecology, and the North Woods, winner in Nonfiction; Thomas D. Peacock, The Tao of Nookomis, honorable mention in Fiction; and Tom White, In and Out of Context, honorable mention in Art/Photography. 

Chosen from among 35 nominated titles, this year's winners were announced on May 18 at a gala celebration in UMD's Kirby Ballroom. 

Hear excerpts from some of the best writing produced in 2016 about life in the Northland. There will be time to talk with the authors and learn more about their works.

Light refreshments will be served.

About the Awards

The NEMBA winners are announced each May at an event honoring writers whose books substantially represent our region. 

The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards are presented by the UMD Kathryn A. Martin Library and Friends of the Duluth Public Library, with additional support from Lake Superior Writers, Lake Superior Magazine, and UMD Stores. Nominations for the 30th annual NEMBA awards will open in October. 

For more information, call 218-726-7889.